Be more than words, be more than strength and kind, be love and blind

Megellan,

WTF just happened.

With that said, I have decided to adopt a new life philosophy. I am going to #BeBetter. From now until the end of my time here on this mound of dirt, rock and water I am going to choose to be better. I have a friend Eddy who always said, “Don’t be sorry, be better.” Now, like never before is the time for everyone to be better.

With each situation that presents itself to me, I am going to choose the action of love. I am going to willingly love each human that crosses my path. I will look at each and every opportunity and interaction as a chance to learn just a tiny nugget about this incredible universe. I am going to smile at strangers. I am going to be better and keep looking for the good in all people.

I’m going to be better to myself. I will be more critical of what I put into my body. I will water myself more frequently. I will be better about taking time for myself, to exercise and to dream. To create and to share.

I’m going to be better for my friends. Beyond listening I’ve never been a caregiver but I will be better at helping the ones I love through their struggles.  I will be better because I will help the ones I love be better too.

I’m going to be better for my art. I’m going to stop making excuses and just make.

I’m going to be better for my brother. It’s quite possible that things may get very unsafe for him and others in the near future and now, more than ever we need to show our support for people of all communities, genders, orientations, and backgrounds.

I’m going to be better for my community, whatever that looks like. In my immediate community I will engage with my fellow neighbors to make the place we call home safe, friendly and habitable. With my larger communities, I will stand up- and when the time calls for it vocalize for the rights all women deserve. I will give my time and skills to causes that are good for all humans. I will be better for my community.

If we all try to be better, even just a tiny bit perhaps we can help love and kindness shine through.

Yours,

N.

Leave a Reply

